On some sites, like Stack Exchange, posts that have been deleted are still visible to a certain class of users beyond moderators/administrators. (On SE, reaching a certain reputation level means you see these posts, distinctively marked.) I have noticed that on some sites, if a deleted post contains very-offensive content like hate speech, users at this privilege level will edit out the offense for the sake of other privileged users so nobody has to look at it. On other sites, I've seen people not do this so the post remains as it was at deletion time ("for the record").
On Stack Exchange, if a post is wholly offensive and flagged as such, it's hidden behind a click for the users who can see deleted posts. I'm not asking about those; I'm asking about posts that weren't deleted because they were offensive but for some other reason, but they also contain offensive parts. Should I encourage, discourage, or ignore my users who edit these posts? Please share your reasoning and any precedents you can bring from sites where you've seen this happen (SE or otherwise).